NHL explains missed game-winning goal in Sharks-Sabres game

If you watched the end of the Sharks shootout loss to the NHL-worst Sabres on Tuesday, you saw the Sharks poke the puck under goalie Ryan Miller and past the goal line in overtime for what should have been a game-winning goal. Only problem was that none of the referees saw that before Buffalo’s Tyler Myers could quickly swoop in and kick the puck out of the goal. Not sure about you but I grew up with the hockey where if the puck crosses the line during play it’s a goal no matter what.

But the good news is that we’re in a progressive and understanding society in 2013, where we have embraced such things as video replay for moments exactly like this. Funny you say that. That’s apparently not the thinking for the alleged video sleuths in the NHL’s replay headquarters in Toronto, who just decided to pass on the review altogether. For their sake let’s hope they were in too much of a drunken stupor-induced crack binge to realize what was transpiring 2,600 miles (4184.29 km) in San Jose.

In case you missed it, here’s what went down, topped by a crack (sorry, I’ll stop) explanation from Drew Remenda:

The NHL went into damage control Wednesday. League VP of hockey ops Mike Murphy essentially that the goal should not count because the referee was going to blow the play dead anyway—the “intent” rule to which Remenda was referring. From CBC:

“[Referee Mike] Leggo waves it off when the puck hits the post and starts to come to the net as a scramble develops. [In the NHL's video review room in Toronto] we’re still looking at the puck off the post, then see the play with Leggo approaching net, putting the whistle in his mouth and he waves aggressively.

“The optics would have been better if we got him to put on the headset and asked what he was seeing… We spoke after the game, I told him it did go in, we probably would get some pushback and should have gotten him over [to the headset] for the optics of the review.”

Interestingly, the review would have happened before the league office actually knew the puck was in the net. It’s not uncommon to review shots off the post or wild scrambles near the line, but like San Jose’s broadcast team (Buffalo’s didn’t show it), Murphy and his mates didn’t realize it was a goal until after play resumed. A goal cannot count in that situation.

Despite all this, Murphy is adamant it was the right call under Rule 78.5.

“Had we called a goal against Buffalo it would have been wrong, because it shouldn’t have been a goal,” he said. “We should have done the headsets, because any controversy would have died. This type of play is not a rarity.”

What? Are you on crack or something? (OK, NOW I’ll stop.)


Comments Closed

Comments are closed. You will not be able to post a comment in this post.